Hiring a Work Comp Lawyer

Group 152

Table of Contents

For many, the thought of retaining an attorney can be scary. Many think they cannot afford a lawyer to help them obtain workers’ compensation benefits. But under Minnesota’s workers’ compensation laws, you can hire an attorney at no cost to you.

Under Minnesota workers’ compensation law, the attorney only recovers fees if they recover benefits for the injured worker.

The fee is limited to 25% of the first $4,000 in benefits recovered, and 20% of remaining. And the maximum fee is $13,000.The workers’ compensation judge may approve greater fees in special cases.

But if an employer and insurer deny your claim and you win your case, the employer and insurer must reimburse you 30% of all attorney fees over the first $250 awarded.

If you have been denied workers’ compensation benefits or have concerns about your case, we at the Law Office of Thomas Mottaz are workers’ compensation attorneys that help people with Minnesota work injuries anywhere in MN. Contact us for a free consultation and we will answer your questions or help you find the right lawyer for your situation.