According to state law, you have a finite number of days to report a workplace injury in Minnesota. If you delay and your window closes, you might lose your right to recover benefits. A best practice after getting injured at work is to report the incident as soon as possible. You can also consult an attorney to guide you through the whole process.
The Importance of Reporting Your Workplace Injury in Minnesota
You must report a work injury to receive compensation for it. In Minnesota, you must report a workplace injury within 180 days of sustaining it. In case of failure to honor the deadline, you’ll not receive compensation.
You can provide written or verbal notice within 180 days of suffering the harm. Sometimes, it’s difficult to know when you sustained an injury, for example, in the case of a Gillette injury.
Gillette injuries occur due to repetitive trauma. For example, these injuries may happen if your work requires you to bend down frequently. For these cases, you must provide a notice of injury when it becomes reasonably clear that you’ve suffered harm.
Types of Workplace Injuries You Can Report
In Minnesota, you can recover compensation for workplace injuries that happened or worsened because of your job. Some of these injuries include:
Injuries Caused by a Specific Event
A specific event causes the most common workplace injuries. For example, you may fall after slipping on a wet surface or tripping on loose flooring. This type of accident may lead to a head, shoulder, or knee injury.
Consequential injuries happen as a result of an original injury that you sustained on the job. These subsequent injuries can happen in a variety of ways.
For example, you may suffer a consequential injury because of favoring one side of your body after injuring the other side in a work-related incident. Ensure you report your consequential injury as soon as it happens.
Occupational diseases are those that are attributable to a particular job or industry. They happen because of exposure to harmful conditions at the workplace. A common example is Mesothelioma, a disease caused by asbestos exposure.
Workers’ Compensation Benefits You Can Claim After an Injury
You might wonder what benefits you’re eligible for after reporting a work injury. Here’s a breakdown:
You may be unable to work entirely because of your injury. Alternatively, you might return to work but earn less because of your injury. Other times, your injuries may make it impossible to find a steady job and earn a stable income. In either of these cases, you can receive wage-loss benefits.
In Minnesota, you can receive compensation for the medical bills resulting from your workplace injury. Some of the things covered by medical benefits include:
- Hospital stays
- Physical therapy
Vocational Rehabilitation Benefits
Vocational rehabilitation benefits help you return to your previous job or move to another one. You can enjoy services like job placement and formal retraining.
Other Steps to Take After Suffering a Workplace Injury in Minnesota
Reporting a workplace injury in Minnesota is the first step. There are more measures you should take to secure your claim. The first is to seek medical care. While some injuries, like cuts, will heal independently, more serious injuries won’t.
For example, an injury to the head will require medical attention. A doctor will determine and document the seriousness of your injury. Your medical files will then serve as evidence.
Another step you can take is to consult a workers’ compensation lawyer. The attorney can answer all your questions and help you with paperwork. They will also inform you of your legal options.
Talk to a Workers’ Compensation Lawyer After Reporting Your Injury
Now you know the importance of reporting your work injury to your employer. Ensure you do so within 180 days. We understand that you may have many more questions about the topic. Contact Mottaz & Sisk Injury Law today to get answers to all your questions on reporting a workplace injury in Minnesota.