Minnesota workers’ compensation claims can be complicated and loaded with uncertainty. The physical pain, treatment, and doubt about job security are overwhelming. Below, everything you need to file your workers’ compensation claim is laid out for you in simple steps.
What Is Minnesota Workers’ Compensation?
Workers’ compensation is on-the-job accident-related insurance. In Minnesota, most employers must carry this type of insurance to cover any employee that gets hurt on the job. This insurance covers the medical expense to treat the injury and monetary compensation for the time the employee has to take off from work.
Who Is Exempt From Workers’ Compensation Insurance?
While most businesses are required to carry workers’ compensation insurance, there are a handful of exceptions. These are the businesses that are not required to have this form of insurance:
- Sole proprietors
- Executive officers in closely held corporations
- Managers in LLCs
Exploring the Steps of Your Minnesota Workers’ Compensation Claim
Every state has its workers’ compensation rules and regulations. The procedures to file a claim vary from state to state. To file a Minnesota workers’ compensation accident claim, it takes four steps. We will explore these steps to make filing easier.
Step 1: An Injury Takes Place
The first step in the process of a Minnesota workers’ compensation claim is that an injury occurred in the workplace. It does not matter the nature of your injury. If it happened while you were at work, it fits under Minnesota workers’ compensation law.
Step 2: Report Your Injury
As soon as you get hurt on the job, report it to your employer. If possible, report your injury before leaving the premises where the incident occurred. Details are crucial in these cases to ensure that you receive proper insurance coverage.
Immediate reporting is beneficial to both employer and employee. Your employer has the right to mitigate their damages. Employers cannot do their part if they do not know that an injury occurred. Knowledge of a work-related accident enables your employer to process the appropriate forms to pay benefits and ensure you have proper medical coverage.
However, according to Minnesota’s workers’ compensation law, you have up to 30 days to report an injury. Work-related injuries that go unreported beyond 30 days may be ineligible for benefits. If you failed to report your accident within 30 days, seek an attorney in this case.
Step 3: Get Medical Treatment
You must get medical treatment regardless of how minor or serious you think your injury is. The most obvious reason is to get a professional to examine your injury, determine its severity, and administer proper treatment.
The other reason for seeking medical treatment is for documentation of your injury. This is important for the injured employee in case there is a denial from the employer of the accident. Most employers honor workers’ compensation claims from their employees. But, there are times when there is a dispute with the employer or the insurance company, and the employee has to provide details and proof of the incident.
Step 4: Find a Minnesota Workers’ Compensation Claims Lawyer
It is always best to seek the advice of an attorney who specializes in workers’ compensation claims. Being well-educated about your particular situation can only benefit you. Asking for advice from an attorney does not cost you anything, and it can save you from being underpaid and undercovered if there is a problem. At the least, the lawyer will tell you you do not need their assistance in your case.
The above laid out steps are the essential steps required for a workers’ compensation claim.
Start Navigating Your Minnesota Workers’ Compensation Claim Today
We are always willing to advise you and assist you in getting your proper injury compensation. Contact Mottaz & Sisk Injury Law today to speak with our team about your Minnesota workers’ compensation claim.